2019 Symposium

Hunt Library on Centennial Campus of NC State University
April 10-12, 2019

The 2019 annual symposium was a huge success thanks to the 160 academic researchers, federal agencies, industry representatives and students who gathered to discuss trends and technologies in medium voltage power electronics, power systems, renewable energy, and electric transportation technologies. The event included keynote speakers, tutorials, technical sessions, poster presentations, and panel discussions in an open dialogue setting.

For more information on the speakers, click the following link: Speaker Bios

To download the presentation, please click on the respective speakers’ name in the agenda below.

Wednesday, April 10 (Pre-conference Tutorials, separate registration required)
12:30 pm Registration
1:00 pmTutorial 1:
Design and Integration of Solid State Circuit Protection.
Doug Hopkins, NC State
3:00 pmBreak
3:30 pmTutorial 2:
Microgrid Hierarchical Controls.
Srdjan Lukic, NC State
Iqbal Husain, NC State
M A Awal, NC State
Hui Yu, NC State
5:30 pm Reception
Thursday, April 11
8:00 amRegistration and NetworkingContinental Breakfast
8:30 amWelcomeMladen Vouk, NC State
Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation
8:30 amKeynote:
Batteries and Electrification R&D
Steven Boyd, US Department of Energy
9:15 amKeynote:
Building a Sustainable and Resilient Grid by Controlling the Edge
Sonja Glavaski, EVP of Innovation at The Faraday Grid
9:45 amFREEDM Updates and Research.Iqbal Husain, NC State
Ning Lu, NC State
10:35 amBreak
10:50 amSession 1A:
Devices and Packaging
Victor Veliadis, PowerAmerica
Jay Baliga, NC State
Spyridon Pavlidis, NC State
Doug Hopkins, NC State
10:50 amSession 1B:
Power Systems
Arnie de Castro, SAS
Don Morrow, Navigant
Hong Wang, Oak Ridge National Lab
Reynaldo Nuqui, ABB
Wenyuan Tang, NC State
12:30 pmLunch
1:45 pmSession 2A:
Microgrids and Renewables
Andy Haun, Schneider Electric
Trent Miller, Duke Energy
Brian Dale, Duke Energy

Jim Musilek, NCEMC
Ning Lu, NC State
1:45 pmSession 2B:
Power Electronics
Johan Enslin, Clemson University
Mike Mazzola, UNC Charlotte
Sandeep Bala, ABB
Subhashish Bhattacharya, NC State
3:25 pmBreak
3:40 pmPoster SessionFREEDM Graduate Students
5:30 pmReception
6:00 pmDinner
Friday, April 12
8:00 amRegistrationContinental Breakfast
8:30 amKeynote:
The Future of the Grid
Marija Ilic, MIT
9:00 amKeynote:
Towards a Resilient Information Architecture Platform for Smart Grid
Gabor Karsai, Vanderbilt University
9:30 am Keynote:
Where Ohm's Law Meets Moore's Law
Shuli Goodman, LF Energy
10:00 amSession 3A:
Circuit Protection and Controls
Patrick McGinnis, Naval Surface Warfare Center
Debrup Das, ABB
Mike Harris, Atom Power
Anup Bhalla, United Silicon Carbide
10:00 amSession 3B:
Controls for Next Generation Power Systems
Brian Johnson, University of Washington
Kevin Chen, Duke Energy
Abhishek Dubey, Vanderbilt University
Aranya Chakrabortty, NC State
11:45 amLunchDean Louis Martin-Vega, NC State
College of Engineering
12:30 pmTransition to Lab ToursPREES Lab
GridWrks Lab
GEH Testbed
2:00 pmAdjourn

Click on the link below for detailed descriptions of all the sessions:
Detailed Session Description